At What Price Peace? Thoughts on Serenity, Stability and the Cost of A Good Night’s Sleep

Some ‘life coach’/bot on Twitter recently asked me what I could be given that would make my life perfect RIGHT NOW.  I’ve been a little stressed (a lot) about everything, but to generalize mainly money (and the exponential increase of obstinate behavior from my son) and I fired off a reply over two direct messages that went something like this:

“$8500 would make my life easy if not perfect. I’m moving, I bought a car and that amount of cash would help me sleep nights. That would help me be comfortable and settled while I finish my novel. And finishing my novel would change my life. Can you help with that?”

The life coach/bot did not reply. I guess I shouldn’t wait by my mailbox for that check, huh?

I’d be happy with less than $8,500, too, don’t get me wrong. It’s been a rough few years and the road to not worrying all the time is long. Recently, finances have been a primary worry for me – moving, and yes, the car (the current worry.), and life in general make me want to cry. I’m tired of struggling so hard. It’s making me frustrated all the time. It makes me hesitant to live my life.  It makes me nervous and jumpy.  You’d think it would be obvious that I’m living at the ends of my means, but people are shocked when they realize that. I’m not entitled to anything and I’m not afraid to work hard. It’s just that I do work hard, I do keep plowing through hard times and it never seems to get better. I know I’m not alone, but oh man, it feels like I am.

I don’t know the purpose of this post was, I guess. Unless someone is out there reading and wants to make this girl’s holiday season a whole lot better, by giving me the chance to not worry so much, at least for a little while. Then, by all means, you angel of wonderfulness, here I am.

Otherwise, I’m open to sympathy and virtual cookies. 🙂

2 thoughts on “At What Price Peace? Thoughts on Serenity, Stability and the Cost of A Good Night’s Sleep

  1. I am in the “absolutely no money” boat as well. I’m graduating this spring and plan on moving back into my parents house and working at Wendy’s. Not a great plan, but hopefully my book sales will pick up by then :p

    Like

    • Bethany (love your name!),
      A plan is always good, because even if you don’t follow it to the letter, you have a framework to go back to. 🙂 I admire you for having a book ready to sell…lol…the complete chaos in my head/life right now is keeping me from writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

