The Inequality of Leaning Out

Awesome thoughts on the same subject by Terri Webster Schrandt. Love her blog – make sure you check it out!

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Featured Image -- 160

Sheryl Sandberg, in her groundbreaking book, Lean In, explores the inequalities of the women-to-men ratios in the workplace in terms of leadership. Women not only face institutional barriers, but a battle from within. Sandberg gave a TEDtalk on how women hold themselves back, literally choosing to watch from the sidelines, and from this, Lean In was born.

In other words, many women did not sit at the main conference table, but instead chose to sit in chairs on the sides. I have done this earlier in my career, feeling slightly unequal to others in the room who had more experience than I. The same phenomenon happens in the classroom in higher education, where women, including myself, either timidly raised their hands to answer a question or did not even try. I knew I had the answer, but I was afraid that it may come out wrong. However the men in…

View original post 295 more words

2 thoughts on “The Inequality of Leaning Out

  1. I had the unique opportunity to teach at an all-men’s college in the 60s-70s. Then the college went “co-ed.” Most of the in-services we had had to do with OUR being able to adjust. One by one, the young women found their way, semester by semester, to my courses. I felt honored–and was delighted at their input. Moving to a small community college, I had mostly women–parents and single moms–in my classes. Unique, for I sometime had 25-30 women in a class, with three or four males. I think I handled it all very well. I have always thought I was fair and practiced equality. Maybe that was from the way I was brought up? I think that my dad taught well. And, practicing inequality, I still open the door for my wife.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

