Put That Demon Back Where It Came From Or So Help Me – Dabbling in The Dark Arts As A Social Media Phenomenon

Someone needs to listen to Mike Wazowski...

Someone needs to listen to Mike Wazowski…

The other night, while my son and I were spending some old fashioned family time staring at screens (don’t judge me), he looked up from his phone long enough to ask me about this new demon summoning fad on social media. You can look up the videos yourself. Because I immediately declared the event a hoax, I was treated to about fifteen minutes of almost identical home videos showing yellow #2 pencils swinging around on a piece of white paper, seemingly at the whim of a demon. This is attended by reactions that range from quiet wonderment to people jumping up from their seats, screaming in horror. All I could think was….

Preach, Sister....

Preach, Sister….

What is it with people and the need to hold paranormal amateur hours? It’s not a new trend, and it’s certainly not going to stop with this latest incarnation. But, unlike trying to communicate with the dead, summoning a demon has a whole different context. Leaving the Judeo-Christian reasons aside, let’s just look at the situation from a New Age perspective for a moment.

In a tarot card spread, this guy is STILL bad news....

In a tarot card spread, this guy is STILL bad news….

Yes, I’m going there. Taking out the ‘God doesn’t want you to because it’s bad’ aspect, I will replace that with a completely different message:

It’s bad to attract negative energy to yourself. On purpose. Meddling with things you can’t control causes a karma cascade effect that winds you up on your precious hind end wondering why life sucks all of a sudden. There are no good reasons to tempt something that is identified across the board as a demon.

NONE. NOT EVER.

Especially not to be the new darling of Snapchat, Twitter, YouTube or any other social media site. Not even if you’re guaranteed to get a million views, 100,000 new followers and be famous for the 18.789 seconds. There’s always a price when you play around with things you don’t understand, a karmic rebalancing that will not be fun for you.

Chances are that a demon isn’t hanging around waiting for some teenager to call on it with pencils and paper. Or with a Ouija board. Someone once asked me to remove a curse from a Ouija board, thinking my reading tarot cards for people somehow makes me an expert in curses. I had to explain how curses have no power unless the ‘cursed’ believes in it, so there really wasn’t anything for her to worry about. She insisted, and I told her that the answer was to destroy the board, burn it and break the planchett so no one could use it, and then find a hobby that didn’t pretend to harness the powers of the occult for amusement purposes.

Surprisingly, this solution to her problem wasn’t acceptable at all. I think she would have been happier if I said “Oh, sure, I can do that. $500 and the curse is gone forever.”, waved some crystals over the offending board game and declared it whammy free. Inviting the karmic steamroller to just run right over me isn’t really on my list of things to do, so I’m good with Ouija board destruction.

The bigger picture here is that this stuff isn’t real, but why risk it? Want to be an internet sensation? Make a video that highlights a special talent, be funny or talk about issues that matter to you. Calling on a spirit to answer your petty questions really has a wider ripple effect than playing a simple game.

Don’t fart around with the occult.

10 thoughts on “Put That Demon Back Where It Came From Or So Help Me – Dabbling in The Dark Arts As A Social Media Phenomenon

  1. I agree with you: it isn’t real, but why do you want to fill your space with so much negative energy?
    it certainly isn’t a new phenomenon, but the internet has taken it (& many other stupid things) to a whole new level. Teenagers, in particular, are fascinated by the occult – usually the phase passes on its own. Unfortunately, like the owner of the cursed ouija board, some people never stop wanting it to be real.
    But since it seems to be something that kids (& adults) have been dabbling with for centuries, it is unlikely to go away any time soon – even with videos demonstrating nothing happening (after all that’s how Ghost Hunters survived for years)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The occult has fascinated people for centuries, and of course, in less enlightened times, gotten them burned at the stake, hung and beheaded. My son asked me if we were “supposed to” believe in demons since we believe in God. Stock answer was: “God doesn’t let stuff like that hurt you, bother you or do anything to you unless that’s part of the plan…” which seemed like a cop out, since saying “Just don’t waste your time with that crap” didn’t satisfy him.

      The Ghost Hunters love my museum, so I have to be nice…they say they’ve found evidence of ghosts, so to that I say “to each, his own…”

      Liked by 2 people

  2. “Ahghh! I got demons running all through me! All through me!” Thanks, Beetlejuice! You know my feelings in regards to the occult and all that jazz … nothing new there. I can’t say that pencils waving around fill me with dread, or boards, or cards , or astrology or— nevermind. You know the rest lol.
    If there is such a thing as karma, bad or otherwise, it would be spent pretty quickly with all the dumbassery people are bound by their own natures to get into eventually. Long ago, Apeman Zim Zug stood upright and promptly got poo flung in his face by Goo Gronk. All of the apemen then laughed and twittered about it with cave wall paintings. Yep, dumbassery has existed since the beginning of time and the Internet just makes it more concentrated. It’s the instant attention factor that some people can’t resist. As far as dabbling in the paranormal goes, I just don’t see any kind of dark force worrying about levitating pencils. It doesn’t need to. Humans are perfectly capable of doing worse without any kind of intervention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL..none of that fills me with dread either (and don’t use that as an excuse to tease me into watching “The Exorcist” by myself, because it is not going to happen). As I said, if there are demons swirling around, they have better things to do than answer yes and no questions for kids dying to be famous on social media. BUT, it does seem like a point of common sense to not mess with stuff you don’t really understand (in the case of the dumbasses), just like you wouldn’t kick a hornet’s nest.
      You are 100% correct about people being capable of much worse without intervention. Sad world, huh?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like your rationale. I am going to share it with my agnostic daughter that wants to go with her friends to Cassadega ( city of Wiccans and palm readers outside our city).

    Like

    • Here’s the thing: Let her go, but warn her that anyone who says they will charge her to remove a curse, bad energy or whatever, is only out to remove whatever money they can from your daughter’s wallet. I read tarot cards for people, so I can’t judge someone who reads palms or says they’re a psychic, but I do warn interested parties to take what’s said with a grain of salt. Be entertained, not guided – if that makes sense. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

